Inter-University Centre Dubrovnik

An independent international centre for advanced studies


Innovative Approaches to Blasting
23 Oct 2016 - 28 Oct 2016
Course directors:
Vječislav Bohanek, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Alfred Maier, Montanuniversität Leoben, Austria
Course description:

The Dubrovnik International ESEE Mining School (DIM) brings together international experts in the field of Mining in the heart of the ESEE Region. Focussing on recent developments within the mining industry and the development of the mining sector, our program aims at transferring new-found, innovative theoretical knowledge, tested in practice, to our participants.Within the thematic workshops and project work the focus lies on direct knowledge transfer from renowned experts to the participants, but also the creation of an open dialogue between students, scholars, researchers, the industry and wider society.

The first edition of the program focuses on the wider societal and economic acceptance of drilling and blasting, by educating mining engineers on the newest innovative, tested techniques on environmentally friendly blasting. Participants will gain the expertise on how to reduce noise, vibration and avoid fly rock in theory and practice and thus be able to carry out mining that is sustainable in the future.

Topics in the 2016 edition will lead from a general introduction to blasting – blasting theory, to fragmentation, to the legal framework of blasting, to blast design, to health safety and the environment and finally to more specific aspects of blasting.

*Programme offer 4 ECTS credits and requirements are seminar paper and practical work.

Course lecturers:
Peter Moser, Montanuniversität Leoben, Austria
Alfred Maier, Montanuniversität Leoben, Austria
Finn Ouchterlony, Montanuniversität Leoben, Austria
Muhamed Sućeska, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Mario Dobrilović, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Vječislav Bohanek, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Zvonimir Ester, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Mark Ganster, Austin Powder International, Austria
Nina Shepel, National Mining University, Ukraine
Sibila Borojević Šoštarić, University of Zagreb, Croatia